Currently, 45% of the total gross of Agricultural output produced in Kazakhstan is an animal husbandry. As a part of development of the Agro-Industrial complex for 2017-2021, about 30% or 35.9 billion tenge was allocated for subsidizing investment projects in the livestock sector.
Based on analysis and comparison of the foreign markets and domestic production capacities potential, main long-term priority of the agro-industrial complex development is a meat cattle breeding.
The adopted model is based on traditions of nomadic transhumance and competitive advantages of Kazakhstan:
180 million hectares of pastures (of which 58 million hectares are used);
3.8 million people of able-bodied rural population (of which 1.3 million people are employed in agriculture);
proximity to major growth markets with total imports of more than 2 million tons per year;
developed crop production, which has unlimited potential for the development of forage base, including on irrigated lands (by 2021 irrigated lands will be increased to 2 million hectares, by 2030 - to 3 million hectares).

The new approach involves participation of a large number of small farms in a single technological conveyor of meat production. Family farmers will be engaged in raising livestock and getting gobies for fattening, industrial feedlots - intensive fattening, meat processing plants - industrial slaughter of livestock, deep processing and marketing of finished products.

В настоящее время 45% всей валовой продукции сельского хозяйства, производимой в Казахстане, приходится на животноводство. В рамках развития агропромышленного комплекса на 2017-2021 годы, на субсидирование инвестиционных проектов в сфере животноводства направлено порядка 30% или 35,9 млрд. тенге.
На основе анализа и сопоставления потенциала внешних рынков и внутренних возможностей производства основным долгосрочным приоритетом развития агропромышленного комплекса определено мясное животноводство.
Принятая модель основана на традициях кочевого отгонного животноводства и конкурентных преимуществах Казахстана: 
  • 180 млн. га пастбищ (из которых используется 58 млн. га);
  • 3,8  млн. человек трудоспособного сельского населения (из которых в сельском хозяйстве занято 1,3 млн. человек);
  • близость к основным растущим рынкам с общим импортом более 2 млн. тонн в год;
  • развитое растениеводство, имеющее неограниченный потенциал для развития кормовой базы, в том числе на орошаемых землях (к 2021 году площадь орошаемых земель будет доведена до 2 млн. га, к 2030 году – до 3 млн. га). 
Новый подход предусматривает участие большого количества небольших ферм в едином технологическом конвейере производства мяса. Семейные фермеры будут заниматься выращиванием скота и получением бычков для откорма, промышленные откормочные площадки - интенсивным откормом, мясокомбинаты - промышленным забоем скота, глубокой переработкой и сбытом готовой продукции.